Skip to content

Yogurt and Cooked Vegetables Experiment

July 6, 2010

I’ve moved into my new apartment, and I’m back to cooking-on-my-own. I don’t have school right now, however, so I have a little more free time to try something creative. Not to say that this is totally creative, but I’ve never tried it before, so there we go.

Initial Ingredients: yellow squash, zucchini

First, I chopped them up.

Then I put them in a small casserole dish.

Then I added black pepper and drizzled honey onto them.

Thinking it might be delicious, I added some sweet curry into the mix.

I put on the lid, and put the entire thing into the oven at about 300 degrees.

Maybe I shouldn’t have put on the lid. I dunno. Anyways, I put them in there for maybe 10 minutes or 15. Honestly, this varies. I’m not sure I cooked them long enough.

I took’em out, tasted one, and decided that goat cheese would go smashingly on them to lighten up the amount of curry I used.

After trying that out, I thought that plain organic yogurt with honey would be a good little addition on the side, a way to sort of cool down and sooth after a few bites (the pepper and curry were a little spicy by the end)

And, to my happiness, it worked!

So I ended up with a pretty delicious meal, that I wish I had added some french bread to.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Beth permalink
    July 7, 2010 3:41 pm

    I love that you gave the honey-and-black pepper treatment to the summer squash. When we tried it on the butternut squash, we had an uncovered dish and the oven was at 45o – roasting the squash. It cooked in about 20 minutes with little charred bits on the edges that reminded me of roasted marshmallows. I don’t think summer squash would take as long because they aren’t as dense. On the other hand, they have more water in them and would really need to have the lid off to ‘steam off’ all that liquid.

    • July 7, 2010 5:02 pm

      Leaving it uncovered I think would’ve helped a lot. I might try it out again tonight on a very small scale just to see if that does it–
      I ate about half of the bowl, got tired of it and stopped. Later I picked up the rest of them and ate them as slightly floppy chips that I dipped in to my roasted pepper hummus. I think those plus the hummus stuffed into a pita would be really good.

  2. Beth permalink
    July 8, 2010 8:41 pm

    roasted veggies and hummus on pita = 🙂

  3. Beth permalink
    July 13, 2010 2:36 pm

    OK, taking your cue, I roasted squash and zucchini (with olive oil and salt and pepper, this time) and ate it for supper in a pita, with sour cream since I didn’t have goat cheese or hummus available. I thought it was really good. Next time I might dress up the sour cream a little bit, as in making it more like a dip for veggies that is doubling as a spread in my pocket pita. Thanks for another supper idea.

Leave a Reply

