Skip to content

Avocado and Strawberry Salad

May 20, 2010

Well, finals week is over and I’m finally home from my freshman year of college. But don’t worry, this doesn’t mean I won’t continue to try and eat healthfully! Finals week was a big blow on my diet. It was hard to find foods to eat that were quick and filling, coupled with my packing up of all my kitchen stuff,resulting in me having nothing to prepare food with, so I ate out a lot. I plan on brainstorming however, and coming up with some tasty and very quick recipes to help get through those midterms and finals for next semester. Plus, I’m going to try and get some ideas together for those of you who live in a dorm situation and only have a sink, microwave, and possibly mini fridge. Now, on to the recipe…

Avocado and Strawberry Salad

– one medium avocado, sliced
– five medium strawberries, sliced
– couple pinches of craisins
– tbsp of brianna’s blush wine vinaigrette (I just used it because it said it was good with strawberries. Basically any vinaigrette will work, of course. I’m just working with what my mom has in the fridge now)

and that’s it! Of course you could add goat cheese, or any number of other assortments. Add some fresh spinach and you got an even better salad! Just from what I named it ends up being about 350 calories, maybe more maybe less depending on how much of what you add in.

Basically, you might not think avocado would go with strawberries, but it is actually pretty darn good. It’s a great summertime dish!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2010 12:39 pm

    But don’t worry, this doesn’t mean I won’t continue to try and eat healthfully!

    Thank God, I was so worried you’d stop altogether and get fat!!!

    • May 20, 2010 2:11 pm

      I just don’t eat as well at home, normally. Thanks for the concern though, sam. haha

  2. Beth permalink
    May 20, 2010 1:36 pm

    If I hadn’t used up the poppyseed dressing already, that would have been a good dressing for strawberries, too.

Trackbacks

  1. I Hug Avocados « Home Sweet Houston

Leave a Reply

